Scotland Space Day at Expo 2020

Hosted by Scottish Development International

Location: Dubai

Date & Time

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2021 at 10:30 - 17:00

Join In-Person and Online

Scotland will have a five-day programme of exciting, informative and educational activity for you to experience at the UK Pavilion.


About this event

The first activation is Scotland Space Day, taking place on 20 October 2021. Join us in-person and online to hear from inspirational speakers highlighting Scotland’s unique space story, showcasing pioneering research, innovation and end-to-end capability in the small satellite value chain.

SCOTLAND SPACE DAY PROGRAMME

Keynote welcome
07.30 – 08.00 BST / 10.30 – 11.00 GST

Scottish Government Minister for Business, Trade, Tourism and Enterprise will discuss Scotland’s space industry.

Session 1: Scotland’s collaborative space ecosystem
08.00 – 09.15 BST / 11.00 – 12.15 GST

Hear from stakeholders of the Scottish Space Leadership Council as they explain how their organisation supports the wider ecosystem. An informal chat will focus on the importance of working together locally and partnering internationally.

Session 2: Scotland looking towards Space in 2050
10.00 – 11.00 BST / 13.00 – 14.00 GST

A panel discussion with academics from Scotland and UAE about the role of academia in our thriving space industry. Examples of Scottish-based companies and university/industry collaborations will also be shared.

Session 3: Scotland, the place for Sustainable Space
11.30 – 12.30 BST / 14.30 – 15.30 GST

This session will look at Scotland’s growing space industry through the lens of environmental protection. Representatives of Scotland’s established space data community will share examples of how access to space is already bringing a wealth of benefits to the environment, the economy and to society in general.

Tartan Space Pitches
13.00 – 14.00 BST / 16.00 – 17.00 GST

Scotland’s growing space industry is made up of many innovative small and medium enterprises (SMEs) which play a key role in the development of the UK’s space landscape. The Tartan Space Pitches is the culmination of an initiative that sourced applications for fundraising from space company owners who will pitch their propositions in Dubai. Following an independent selection process, and mentoring support from Scotland’s GlobalScot network, six finalists will present their ideas to an international audience of space stakeholders and investors.

To view the full list of speakers, please visit SDI website.

Scotland Space Programme will be moderated by Dallas Campbell, renowned British TV Broadcaster, Speaker and Author.

 

Trade Mission to World Expo, Dubai
27th November 2021 - 3rd December 2021

Scottish Chambers of Commerce network are taking Scottish businesses to World Expo in Dubai. The trade mission will consist of 3 delegations, with the first delegation for Scotland's Luxary Goods and Experiences leaving on the 27th Novermber - 3rd December. To learn more, visit our World Expo page